Life in Miniature…

…and it’s THURSDAY Gallery!

It was love at first sight when my fifth grade art teacher showed me how to make a shoe box diorama and from that day forward it was looking at life in miniature. Somehow it made the world not only magical, but manageable. Well, this artist, Tatsuya Tanaka who works in mitate (pronounced me-tah-tay, the Japanese word for “to look again”) uses everyday objects as I like to do except he takes it up a level…or two…or three…by using 3D printed figurines. Watch this 2-minute video to see how he does it:

*****

Check out Tanaka’s up-to-date MINIATURE CALENDAR

for a deeper dive:

Japanese Artist Creates Amazing Miniature Dioramas Every Day for 10 Years

When trees became broccoli: The small world of Japanese mitate artist Tatsuya Tanaka

And take a look at how I do it:

Clockwise from top L: hole punch pieces, paper plates, Popsicle sticks, egg cartons
White-winged dove crafted from tissue boxes
Photographing a Touch of Cactus for KDP

purchase my book: A Touch of Cactus.

*****

Parent/Teacher Connection:

This connection for Grades 6-8 is a bit above my usual pre-K/elementary scope, but it’s a really nice PDF aligned with the Oregon Department of Education:

Portland Japanese Garden
Lesson Plans for the Classroom

If you’re interested in Japanese gardens, I’ve been to these:

Kubota Garden Foundation, Seattle WA
Ashland Japanese Garden OR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.