I See Things…

…in driftwood! There are creatures and sculptures and letters and lean-tos…

It’s THURSDAY Gallery!

Driftwood in Lincoln Park, Seattle, May 23, 2022
This one reminded me of a seal.

I am so attracted to the organic nature of driftwood art. I take tons of photos when I’m at the shore, especially in the Pacific Northwest where the beaches seem so much more challenging, more rustic, rougher and wind-tossed than the sandy beaches I grew up with on the East Coast. I also see art in shells, stones and seaweed – Andy Goldsworthy being one of my favorite land artists. In fact, I’ve been ruminating for years on an art project from my collection of seaweed photos I call “Beach Sushi” but I have yet to fashion it into something that I am pleased with.

But for this week, here is an artist who came across my newsfeed that takes driftwood to a whole new level! I am most fond of his dancers for personal reasons. Take a look:

Outstanding figurative driftwood sculptures by Tony Fredriksson

more to see: website, facebook, instagram

Parent/Teacher Connection:

One of my favorite nature books – of which there are many! – is this one for rock loving kids:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.