Just What I “Knee-ed”

*****

Stairs are never just stairs. Each step is a potential stage screaming for a dance — and often a dance of bravery and daring.

Gia Kourlas in The New York Times, January 20, 2023
Just one set of stairs I’ve been navigating with crutches & a locked brace since Halloween. It’s a long way to the top…

It’s FUNDAY Monday and…

…I really did need this interactive article (link below) from The New York Times as I’ve been disconnected from my active way of life all winter by a broken kneecap. I’m a sucker for old movies with showstopping dance numbers and this article treats you to a whole montage of clips. It’s jaw-dropping family-friendly fun!

Dancing With the Stairs*

*Because I am a New York Times subscriber, this article link is a gift. You can read the full article, even if you don’t yet subscribe to The Times. Unregistered users will see a skippable registration prompt. Once activated, each gift article will be available to the recipient for 14 days. Also, it is often possible to access newspapers online for free through your local public library.

If you want to try stair dancing for yourself, here’s a 1-minute stair shuffle tutorial. (See you on TikTok!):

*****

Related: Building a Novel

This blog is written from my parent/teacher/children’s author perspective, but I also am in the process of writing at least one adult novel in my lifetime, so from time to time I will post a brief piece of writing that may (or may not) turn up in some form in my novel. My current working title (which also may or may not change): Trace of A Girl.

Will one of my characters have an accident? If so, how will it change their life? Click here to read Side Ways

Parent/Teacher Connection:

Music & Movement being a key feature of my preschool classroom, a set of stepping stones was an invaluable piece of equipment with multiple uses. A non-slip set with varying heights can be used with rhyming stories such as “The Bear Climbed Over the Mountain”, “Jack and Jill” , and “The Three Billy Goats Gruff”. They can also be turned into drum sets with DIY rhythm sticks made from dowels or PVC pipe.

SUGGESTED SEARCH: “stepping stone balance toy”

NOTE: I do not participate in Amazon Affiliates and due to Amazon’s recent decision to discontinue the AmazonSmile donation program, I’m not going to directly link products that I recommend on my blog, but rather have you buy from the retailer of your choice. I do purchase personal items from Amazon, but I also try to patronize local businesses especially book, toy and hobby shops as well as online educational supply sources.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.